Governors work as a team. Local Governing Bodies are responsible for making sure the school provides a good quality education for all pupils. Raising educational standards in school is a key priority. This has the best chance of happening when there are high expectations of what pupils can achieve.

Governors monitor the effectiveness of the school and ensure the school is compliant in implementing policies set by the Tyne Community Learning Trust board. They do this together with the head teacher, who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school. Head teachers are recruited and selected by trustees and governors - and most head teachers choose to be governors themselves.

Governing boards are accountable to parents, the local community and the Local Authority. Appointments are for three or usually for four years. The governing board's main role is to help raise pupils' standards of achievement.

Vickie Norton

Parent Governor/ Science

Term of Office: 4 years

Date Appointed: September 2019

Committee Membership: Chair of Curriculum and Standards Committee 

Governor Responsibilities: Acting Chair, Science

I became involved with HMS in 2014 when my eldest daughter joined year 5. I was impressed with the level of pastoral care and quality of education provided so became a parent governor in 2015. My background in science, engineering and education allows me to contribute skills and expertise to the governing body and I am passionate about protecting the 3 tier education system that we have within the Prudhoe Partnership.

Richard Oades

Head Teacher

Office Held: Governor by virtue of position

Term of Office: Ongoing

Date Appointed: September 2015

Committee Membership: Staffing, Finance, Curriculum & Standards

 As Headteacher of Highfield Middle School I am engaged with all aspects of leadership and governance as we strive to provide the highest standard of education for our pupils. Prior to becoming Headteacher, I have worked in a variety of middle and senior leadership roles in middle and secondary schools. I have developed a wealth of experience, with previous responsibilities including SEND, behaviour, disadvantaged pupils, assessment, curriculum, teaching & learning and safeguarding .

I also have 3 children of my own in Middle and High schools in the North East. I try to use my experience as a father to influence and enhance the quality of provision at Highfield Middle School. I am passionate about providing an inclusive and supportive learning environment which enables children to grow into well-rounded, confident and capable young citizens. I welcome the support and challenge provided to me by a committed and highly skilled team of governors.

Lyndsay Briddock

Academy Governor / Maths / Safeguarding

Term of Office: 4 years 
Date Appointed: September 2019
Commitee Membership: Curriculum and Standards
Governor Responsibility: Safeguarding, Maths
I have been a Governor at Highfield Middle School since March 2017.  I am currently a teacher at Mickley First School so I have a good knowledge of the National Curriculum and experience of leading Maths, English and P.E. I also have a good knowledge of Primary assessment.

Mr Stuart Rutherford-Orrock

Staff Governor / Equality and Diversity

Term of Office: 4 years

Date Appointed: September 2019

Committee Membership: Curriculum and Standards

Governor Responsibilities: Equality and Diversity / Transition

I have been teaching at HMS for 5 years as Head of Art & Design, and as Head of Year 5 since 2015. I have previously worked in one of our feeder First Schools- Prudhoe Castle First School- as Year 4 Class Teacher. Owing to this, I hold a considerable knowledge of First to Middle School transition, and in particular an understanding of progression within the three-tier education system. My passion is for allowing pupils to express themselves creatively and implementing creative learning within the curriculum and in the extra-curricular life of the school. I am looking forward to assisting the governing body in continuing to raise standards at HMS.

Mrs Nichola Hall

Academy Governor

 Term of Office: 4 Years

Date Appointed: January 2020

Mr Colin Harwood


 Term of Office: 4 Years

Date Appointed: October 2021

Mrs Lynn Liss

Academy Governor

 Term of Office: 4 Years

Date Appointed: November 2021

Mrs Sarah Eden

Academy Governor

Term of Office: 4 Years

Date Appointed: November 2021

Mr David Leat

Link Trustee from TCLT board